What does your handwriting say about you?

 

Found on typeeverything.com
Found on typeeverything.com

As I write I can see the handwriting of my teacher of so many years ago. This lady taught me when I was eight years old.

I can recall being very excited about learning how to do joined up writing… I’d been pretending to do my version of it for some time.

We were all given smart lined – exercise books and new pencils;and  so our venture into grown up handwriting began.

My style of handwriting has evolved, of course. But, at the heart of it lies that style carefully taught to me my much-loved teacher, of all those years ago.

And, I’m still in touch with this clever woman who opened up the world of writing for me. We exchange Christmas cards every year.

As I read her lovely notes to me, I am transported back to my eight year old self, learning to join up s, w, m, t and everything else in between.

Found on whitemaqur.com
Found on whitemaqur.com

There is nothing quite like taking a rather fancy pen, pretty scented notebook and neatly recording your thoughts, is there?

As for what your handwriting says about you, I have found this quiz on Buzzfeed, click here to try.

I haven’t had time to do it yet, but, I am looking forward to discovering just what my handwriting reveals about my very private self.

How about you?

  • Care to share what your handwriting says about you?
  • How did you learn to join up your writing?

Thanks for dropping by and have a great day.

Dorne x

8 thoughts on “What does your handwriting say about you?

  1. Well… I got ‘organized’ – poppycock! 😀
    I only use cursive usually, so my writing looks different if I print; kind of neat and clinical whereas my ‘real’ writing is moderately loopy – a bit like me!
    I learned to write back in the days when we used fountain pens.

    1. LOL! I love fountain pens, but I get covered in ink. When I paint I get covered in that as well. So, I understand loopy VERY well.
      My handwriting changes with my mood. I guess most of us are like that. 🙂

      1. I use those gel pens now; not as messy! 🙂
        My handwriting also changes with my mood – there are specific letters that I write differently sometimes. Usually it’s all rounded and flowing, but occasionally I end up with spiky ones. I probably don’t want to know what that means! 😀

      2. Yes, I know what you mean. If I’m feeling happy, relaxed and open my writing is big, round and flowing. If I’ve seen my you know what, my writing is narrow, angular and just arsey… if you get my meaning?
        I love handwriting pens and green pens. God only knows what that says about me. I’m mad anyway. x:)

  2. I teach high school, and a few years ago was astounded to discover that my students could not read the comments I was writing on their papers. (My handwriting is very neat and easy to read.) They did not know how to read joined up handwriting. It is no longer being taught in many schools in the U.S.!

    1. I think it is a shame that it is no longer taught. I feel that as well as making writing easier to do, it also is a beautiful art form… even those of us who have a rather untidy hand. 🙂

Leave a Reply

